The Herbert Warren Wind Book Award

Established in 1987 and renamed in 2006, The Herbert Warren Wind Book Award recognizes and honors outstanding contributions to golf literature. Named in honor of the famed 20th-century American golf writer, the award acknowledges and encourages outstanding research, writing, and publishing about golf. The award attempts to broaden the public’s interest and knowledge in the game of golf. Presented by the USGA Museum, the Book Award is the top literary prize awarded by the USGA.

The USGA is currently accepting submissions for the 2014 Herbert Warren Wind Book Award.

Submissions, including a copy of the book, should be directed in writing to:

USGA Museum
Attention: Nancy Stulack
PO Box 708
77 Liberty Corner Road
Far Hills, N.J. 07931.

To be eligible for the 2014 USGA Herbert Warren Wind Book Award, a book must be an original work about golf, written in English, and published in 2014.

Please click here for a printable version of the 2014 Entry Form.
Adobe Reader is required to view or print this.
Download Adobe Reader (a new browser window will open)

Past Recipients of the Herbert Warren Wind Award

2013 - Jeff Silverman, Merion: The Championship Story
2012 - James Dodson, American Triumvirate: Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, and The Modern Age of Golf
2011 - Don Van Natta, Jr., Wonder Girl: The Magnificent Sporting Life of Babe Didrikson Zaharias
2010 - David Barrett, Miracle at Merion: The Inspiring Story of Ben Hogan’s Amazing Comeback and Victory at the 1950 U.S. Open
2009 - John de St. Jorre, The Story of Golf at The Country Club
2008 - David Malcolm & Peter E. Crabtree, Tom Morris of St. Andrews: The Colossus of Golf 1821-1908
2007 - Kevin Cook, Tommy’s Honor
2006 - James Finegan, Where Golf Is Great
2005 - John Strege, When War Played Through
2004 - James Dodson, Ben Hogan, An American Life
2003 - Phil Pilley, Heather and Heaven
2002 - Mark Frost, The Greatest Game Ever Played
2001 - Bradley S. Klein, Discovering Donald Ross: The Architect and His Golf Courses
2000 - Stephen Lowe, Sir Walter and Mr. Jones
1999 - David Owen, The Making of the Masters
1998 - Lawrence Donegan, Maybe It Should Have Been a Three-Iron
1997 - Davis Love III, Every Shot I Take
1992 - Rhonda Glenn, The Illustrated History of Women’s
1991 - Bobby Burnet, The St. Andrews Opens
1990 - Robert Trent Jones Sr. with Larry Dennis, Golf’s Magnificent Challenge
1989 - Phil Pilley, Golfing Art
1987 - Al Barkow, Getting to the Dance Floor

No award was given in 1988 or from 1993-1996.

The USGA Herbert Warren Wind Award.

A portrait of Herbert Warren Wind, painted by John Howard Sanden in 1993.